MOBILE COUNTY EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY AUTHORITY 2021

Established:

Public Law 920 - 81st Congress created a Federal Civil Defense program according to the Federal Civil Defense Act of 1950. Alabama Civil Defense was created by the Alabama Civil Defense Act of 1951. Act No. 14, Special Session of the Legislature of Alabama, made it mandatory for each political subdivision of the State of Alabama to establish a Civil Defense Agency. The Mobile County Commission, formerly known as the Board of Revenue and Road Commissioners of Mobile County, Alabama, in a regular meeting, April 22, 1952, created and established the Mobile County Civil Defense Authority.

The Mobile County Commission adopted a resolution on May 28, 1984, that designated the Mobile County Civil Defense Authority to be renamed as the Mobile County Emergency Management Agency Authority.

Purpose:

The primary responsibility is developing plans for Mobile County citizens and their property in case of any emergencies that may affect Mobile County.

Membership Appointing Authority:

Resolution adopted by Mobile County Commission, February 26, 2020: the President of the Mobile County Commission, as the chief elected official and designated as the Chief Executive Officer of the Mobile County Emergency Management staff in charge of all operations prescribed for the Mobile County Emergency Operations plans.

The membership consists of one (1) person appointed by official letter by each governing body.

The Executive Committee is comprised of a Mobile County representative, the city of Mobile representative, and one (1) representative elected by the remaining participating municipalities within Mobile County.

The Authority list is comprised of the mayors of each municipality who meet once a year.

Term:

Revised 05/13/2024-cdp

Three (3) years from the time of their respective appointment or until a successor has been appointed.

MOBILE COUNTY EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY AUTHORITY 2021

CONTACT INFORMATION

Mike Evans, Director Mobile County Emergency Management Agency Authority 7350 Zeigler Blvd. Mobile, AL 36608 MobileEMA@mcema.net (251) 460-8000

Sharon (251) 460-8005

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Anthony Livitte, city of Saraland

Robert Lansky, city of Mobile

AUTHORITY LIST

Mayor Henry Barnes Sr., city of Bayou La Batre Mayor Barry Broadhead, city of Chickasaw Mayor Jason Stringer, city of Citronelle Mayor Don Nelson, city of Creola Mayor Jimmy Gardner, city of Prichard Mayor Howard Rubenstein, city of Saraland Mayor Mark Barlow, city of Satsuma Mayor Brandon Van Hook, city of Semmes