Population Shift Causes New County Commission Lines to be Drawn

July 05, 2011

Mobile County has proposed new district boundaries to equalize the voting population in each of the three commission districts, based on the new 2010 Census figures. The new boundaries must also abide by the Voting Rights Act of 1965, which protects black electoral strength and will require the approval of the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ). The DOJ has 60 days to review the changes and determine whether they comply with the 1965 law.

Voters will have a chance to voice their opinion at a public hearing and a Commission vote on the measure at 10 a.m., on Monday, July 25, in the auditorium of Mobile Government Plaza.

Maps of the county indicating the proposed district boundaries are available for inspection during regular business hours, at the following locations: Mobile Government Plaza Atrium; Bayou la Batre City Hall; Citronelle City Hall; Dauphin Island City Hall; Mt. Vernon Town Hall; Tillman’s Corner Community Center; License Commissioner’s Office in Theodore; Mount Vernon Public Library; Saraland Public Library; Satsuma Public Library; Chickasaw Public Library; Prichard Public Library; Mobile Public Library, Main Library and Moorer/Spring Hill Branch, Parkway Branch, Semmes Branch, Theodore Oaks Branch, Toulminville Branch, Trinity Gardens Community Library and West Regional Branch; Kushla Water Board office; First Baptist Church in Semmes and First Baptist Church in Wilmer. The map also may be viewed online at www.mobilecountyal.gov.

Click the link below to view the proposed map.

View PDF

In This Section
Quick Resources